The Davis & Elkins Theatre and Film program is excited to present William Shakespeare’s The Tempest, October 19th – 21st.  Performances will be held at 7:30 pm in the Harper McNeely Auditorium at the Myles Center for the Arts on the campus of Davis & Elkins College.  Directed by Aubrey Helene Neumann and stage-managed by Nicole Shumacher, this slightly updated spin on a classic drama will definitely be a D&E production you will not want to miss.

The Tempest is a comedy-drama that has been reproduced and enjoyed by generations of fans, both young and old. The classic follows Prospera, the rightful Duke of Milan, as she uses her powers to sink a passing ship and torment the survivors – a mixed bunch of heroes and villains, including the King of Naples and Prospera’s deceitful brother Antonio. Director Neumann, who also serves as Assistant Professor of Theatre and Film, reflects, “It has been a joy to discover how Shakespeare’s humor and heart translates to this generation. I am immensely proud of the students who have jumped in to bring this magical world to life!”

Sidney Apanowicz, a sophomore student, stars in this show as Prospera. She reflects on her experience; “This is my first time doing a Shakespeare play, so despite having been acting for a lot of my life, this show has brought a lot of newness, challenges, and growth, which are all great things in work. The cast and crew have been such a joy to work with, and I’m really excited to showcase what we’ve all been working so hard on.”

Mary Orndorff, a freshman, longtime actor and participant in D&E’s theater program, says, “I love acting in a college production because it’s so different from a high school one. Theatre is my passion, and it’s so awesome to be working with everyone in the Tempest!” In this production, she portrays Trincula, a friend and sidekick of the King of Naples.

Additional cast members for the show include Alyssa Stump, Caden Blizzard, Damian Stevens, E.H. Humphrey, Harley Dragone, Jensen Kraft, Joseph Birchland, Kyia McGill, Marissa Mallow, Mary Orndorff, Sidney Apanowicz, Star Eakle, Taylor Lesnak, Trinity Fleming, and Walter Ridgley. Additional artistic team, box office, and crew members include Emma Engle, MacKenzie Jones, Natasha MacKey, Payton Miller, Roger Doug Gabbert III, Rose Bell, Thomas Spears, Ty Wilson, and Willow Ferguson.

We all hope you come out to enjoy and support the D&E Theatre and Film Department in one of their finest renditions.

Go to to reserve your ticket today, or call our Box Office at 304-637-1255.

We can’t wait to see you there!