David Turner

David Turner

Professor of History

Phone: 304-637-1294
Campus Location: Charles E. Albert Hall


  • Ph.D., University of Kentucky, Lexington, Ky.
  • M.A., University of North Carolina, Greensboro, N.C.
  • B.A., University of North Carolina
  • Honorary M.H.L., Davis & Elkins College, Elkins, W.Va.


Prior to beginning his teaching career at D&E, Dr. Turner worked at the National Archives and Records Administration. He also has experience as a freelance writer.

Teaching Areas

  • United States History
  • Environmental History
  • The American Revolution
  • The Third Reich
  • The Sixties
  • The Civil War
  • Southern History
  • Vietnam

Research Interests/Professional Activities

Dr. Turner has interests in U.S. foreign policy, history of the modern South and present politics.


Throughout his teaching career at D&E, Dr. Turner has been awarded with the Sears Award for Teaching Excellence and Campus Leadership, and Lois Latham Award for Teaching Excellence. The Lois Latham Award is presented annually to an outstanding D&E educator who is characterized by their distinguished intellectual career; enthusiasm for scholarship and intellectual curiosity; and, most importantly, by evidence that it is their professional calling to nurture the intellectual and personal growth of others. Dr. Turner also held the Thomas Richard Ross Endowed Chair in History & the Humanities for 10 years. The Chair honors one of Davis & Elkins College’s most distinguished professors and helps ensure that Dr. Ross’s legacy of scholarship and challenging mentorship lives on among professors in history and the humanities.


In addition to writing D&E’s The Centennial History, Dr. Turner’s work has been published in journals such as Middle East International and Michigan Historical Review, as well as newspapers such as The News and Observer (Raleigh, N.C.), News & Record (Greensboro, N.C.) and The Inter-Mountain (Elkins, W.Va.).

Additional Info

Dr. Turner participates in civic activities and has served as president and vice president of the Elkins Historic Landmarks Commission.