D&E President, Concert Choir Participating in Worship Service Group Will Visit First Presbyterian Church in Morgantown

Date Posted: 

Wednesday, November 6, 2019

Elkins – Davis & Elkins College President Chris A. Wood, the College Concert Choir and Assistant Director of Institutional Advancement: Foundation and Church Relations Tina Vial will share their faith at the 11 a.m. November 10 service at First Presbyterian Church in Morgantown, West Virginia. The Choir will perform several selections, Vial will serve as liturgist and Wood will deliver the sermon.

Wood, a native of Huntington, West Virginia, is an ordained United Methodist minister. His sermon for the services is titled “Time to Walk on the Water,” based on Matthew 14:22-33.

Prior to being named D&E’s 15th president in 2016, Wood served as vice president for advancement at Wesley College in Dover, Delaware. Before serving at Wesley College, Wood was vice president for advancement at the University of Mount Olive in Mount Olive, North Carolina. During a 13-year period, he served several United Methodist pastorates in Illinois and Maryland, and later as the executive and program director of Mission West Virginia Inc.

“It is an honor and a pleasure to travel with the Davis & Elkins College Concert Choir to lead worship in congregations across our state,” Wood said. “These young men and women are wonderful representatives of the talented and passionate students at D&E. As an institution affiliated with the Presbyterian Church (U.S.A.), we celebrate our Judeo-Christian heritage and its influence upon the values of the College.”

The Choir will perform “O For a Thousand Tongues to Sing” by Wesley and Koerts; “Who You Say I Am” by Morgan and Fielding; “Amazing Grace – My Chains are Gone” by Newton, Tomlin and Giglio; and “What a Beautiful Name” by Ben Fielding and Brooke Ligertwood.

Under the direction of Liz Marshall-MacVean and accompanied by Donna Baroudi Huffman, the choir’s repertoire also includes a secular set of music for non-sacred choral events.

Members are: Megan Augustine of Dallas, Georgia; Emiley Bell of Coal City; Sarah Bodkins of Coalton; Destiny Brown of Elkins; Abagael Cain of Elkins; Vanessa Collette of Beverly; Seth Croston of Philippi; Jennifer Digman of Elkins; Robert Fields of Pecks Mill; Trevor Gauckler of Charles Town; Ava Hardesty of Lewisburg; Megan Huffnagel of Elkins; Gavin Isner of Elkins; Alexandra Jefferds of Elkins; Lavania Lemasters of Stonewood; Lauren Lunemann of New Milton; Christian Paugh of Clarksburg; Sierra Petry of Charleston; Aliyah Plum of Elkins; Hope Roy of Parsons; Anna Ruf of Belington; Tobias Sears of Crab Orchard;  Liliana Sigley of Elkins; Autumn Simon of Milton, Florida; Emily Tedesco of Reisterstown, Maryland; Alessandro Trujillo of Woodbridge, Virginia; Emma Watson of Beverly; and Matthew Weintraub of Lewisburg.